A Day in the Village

Because my job mostly keeps me in the office, sometimes it’s easy to feel disconnected from who we are seeking justice for… where they live, what they eat, what kind of homes they live in , what kinds of churches they go to, etc…  So last week when I was offered the chance to tag along to a Legal Education day in a tiny little village about an hour away, I jumped at the chance. (If you need a refresher on what happens at a Legal Ed day, read my earlier post: Achieving Victim Relief).

What made the day even more exciting is that part of my job for the day (besides being a nice mzungu and shaking people’s hands and distributing legal materials to our attendees as needed) was to document the day with photography. I do love to take pictures but always find it rather awkward to whip out my camera at every little thing or every little kid I see here in Uganda that I want to show to people back home. I want to make this place my home, and not always be seen as the crazy tourist with the camera.All that to say, it was great fun to have photography be part of my job, at least for a day.

Although my actual assigned task was to take picture of IJM staff members and clients, luckily for me, it was a long day.. which meant I could take fun pictures, too (and post them on my blog!  In order to protect our clients’ privacy and safety, we don’t post pictures of IJM operations or clients). Hope you enjoy these pictures as much as I enjoyed taking them!

There’s no such thing as a picture with only two kids in it. If there’s one kid in a picture, you can be sure that every other child in a 10 metre radius also came to be part of that picture, too. 🙂

 

This baby’s mom was determined to get a good picture of her little girl. I think maybe it’s impossible not to get a good picture of an adorable fat baby girl.


 

Snack time! Peanuts (or groundnuts, as they are called here) are a favorite.

 

Heading home… it was a long day, but overall really successful. We had a great turn-out and our audience was really attentive!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Day in the Village

  1. Junella Hagood

    I couldn’t seem to get the pictures to show up. Tell me wht to do. Thanks.

  2. jan

    Krista, sorry to say I couldn’t get pictures either- not on my news feed or the blog itself. I really want to see them though! Hope you try again!

  3. I re-uploaded the pictures, and they should work now. Let me know if you still have troubles.

Leave a Reply

